Discovering Alabama

State Capitals

Special | 28m 11s | Video has closed captioning.

St. Stephens was Alabama’s territorial capital in 1817. Huntsville was home of the state convention in 1819, and Cahaba (or Cahawba) became the first “permanent” state capital in 1820. Alabama’s seat of government moved to Tuscaloosa just six years later in 1826, and finally to Montgomery in 1846. Doug Phillips explains the moving history.

Aired: 10/15/17

Rating: NR

Problems Playing Video? | Closed Captioning

Discovering Alabama is a local public television program presented by APT.